easier said than done

6

fevereiro 5, 2010 por fabiobossard

easier said than done – falar é facil

Hey, guys! I am back with a new post for you. Sorry for taking long to update here.  It’s this scorching heat that makes me lazy. It’s killing me, although I like summer. I got the idea of today’s post while watching a cartoon. I remember my translation teacher saying that the translation of old tv shows were much better than today. Maybe because today the amount of things to be translated has increased a lot, maybe because today’s translators are lazier. I don’t know. Anyways, the expression I heard in the cartoon was easier said than done which was translated literally é mais fácil falar do que fazer, buuuut we have an equivalent in Portuguese, which is falar é fácil. Sometimes you will hear a né? at the end. I never thought about it, but If I was a foreigner, I would find this né a bit strange. I mean the sound.  Gauchos even make it longer by saying néééé? What do the gringoes who live or have lived in Brasil think?

6 pensamentos sobre “easier said than done

  1. tlcinrio disse:

    Actually, I like the word né and find myself using it a lot here in Rio–with the Carioca accent “né” has a similar sound as “yeah” to me and translates to “right” which in most cases “yeah” can be used = easier to remember/word associate. I passed your site along to both my cunhadas and noticed one using “party pooper” at a churrasco 🙂 It’s been amusing and helpful in my Portuguese learning.

  2. fabiobossard disse:

    I’m glad my blog was useful in your learning of Portuguese.

  3. Danielle disse:

    yeah “né” wasn’t that difficult to pick up, because many English speakers say “eh?” in the same way, and even more say “right?” which doesn’t SOUND similar but functions in exactly the same way. Also, as you know, English speakers have tag questions, which makes the idea of a “né?” very natural. 🙂 🙂

    I came here to tell you the slang that the teenage girls used.

    One said “jacked” for “stole/stolen”
    Ex: “Someone jacked my purse” and “My purse got jacked”.

    Another said “stack it” for “fall down in an embarrassing way”
    Ex: “Oh man, that drunk guy totally stacked it.”
    I’d never heard that one before. 🙂

  4. tudobeleza disse:

    When I first understood the usage of né, I started to hear it all day long, wherever I heard Portuguese and I started to get annoyed by it. Everything was né this, né that. After that initial phase though, I stopped thinking about it and only notice it now if someone over-uses it. Just like those people that use “tá ligado?” every two seconds.

    “Jacked” is commmon, it has been in use for over a decade where I live (in California). “Stacked” is more heard by skaters, surfers, etc, in my opinion.

    Paraenses say “éééé” although I wasn’t exactly sure in what circumstances as I just saw it on a shirt in Belém with many common phrases from Pará. They also say “égua!” a lot, like “po, nossa, ixi, caraca”

    • fabiobossard disse:

      When I got to think of “né” I started to find it weird. How it sounds, for example. Although I still use it. I have to say that I hate “tá ligado”. It’s a slang that appeared when I was a grown-up so I never got used to it and never used it. Also “já é”. I can’t stand both and I find it really weird when someone says that to me.
      I never heard the ‘ééééé’ from Para, but I’ve heard ‘égua’. I guess it’s used in the northeast also.

      • tudobeleza disse:

        égua probably comes from Ceará because many cearenses went to Pará during the great drought of 1877, if I’m not mistaken on the year. There are common dishes in Pará that also come from Ceará such as the baião (brown beans and yellow-ish rice).

Deixe um comentário

