Get your mind out of the gutter

3

fevereiro 25, 2010 por fabiobossard

get your mind out of the gutter – Pare de pensar besteiras

For all the English learners out there who are not familiar with the term dirty, I have to explain that it means “sujo” (the car is dirty) or “sacanagem” (about sex). If you have a dirty mind (mente poluída) it means you always think  about sex when somebody else makes a comment.  So, if you’re talking to a friend and he/she says something that you think it has a sex connotation and you make a joke about it, he/she might say: Get your mind out of the gutter!

I took this example from wordreference and adapted:

A friend says to you “I don’t want to play tennis with you today. I am so sore (dolorido) and tired. Bob, my personal trainer at the gym, gave me a real workout (me deu uma canseira) yesterday.”

So you joke about it: a real work out. huh?

(you are joking hat the real work out was sex)

Your friend will say: Get your mind out of the gutter. That’s not what I meant! (Pare de pensar besteiras. Não foi o que eu quis dizer!)

gutter means calha da casa or bueiro.

3 pensamentos sobre “Get your mind out of the gutter

  1. markuza disse:

    ‘gutter’ can also be in the street, check out ‘sleep in the gutter’

  2. Elena disse:

    Hmmm, I wonder where you got this idea for this post! 😛 Nice job explaining, and I had forgotten that the word for dirty (in the dirty sense, haha) is sacanagem.!

Deixe um comentário

