That’s a rip-off

3

junho 2, 2010 por fabiobossard

That’s a rip-off –  Isso é um roubo

When something is more expensive than it should be, you can say “That’s a rip-off” or “It’s a rip-off”. I remember this American who came to Rio de Janeiro for the first time and went to Mcdonald’s. He noticed that the sandwiches here are more expensive than in the United States, so he said: R$ 13,00 for a Mctrio!? Man, that’s a rip-off!

You can also say “what a rip!”

– R$ 13,00 for a Mctrio!? Man, what a rip!

3 pensamentos sobre “That’s a rip-off

  1. Markuza disse:

    I’ve never heard ‘what a rip’, but ‘what a rip-off’ is quite common. Then again, eight years living in a foreign country I’m sure there’s new expressions and variations that I’m not even aware of…

  2. tudobeleza disse:

    I’ll second the ‘what a rip’ comment from Markuza. There’s a phrase for you! “I’ll second that”.

    I mean, if someone said ‘what a rip’ in context, I’d def. understand what they meant. ‘Highway robbery’ is another phrase that means a rip-off.

  3. Fabio Bossard disse:

    I took that from a Simpsons episode.

Deixe um comentário